World InfoZone - WIZ Around The World
Monday 21st January
Wallis and Futuna Facts
The islands of the Pacific are usually divided into three areas: Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.

Polynesia, which means many islands, is a name covering over a thousand islands between Hawaii, New Zealand and Easter Island.

Polynesian islands include the Cook Islands, French Polynesia, Niue, Samoa, American Samoa, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Wallis and Futuna.

People known as the Lapita arrived in the region around 800 BC.

The Talietumu archaeological site on Wallis, dating back to 1450 AD, was a fortified Tongan settlement.

Samoans settled on Futuna. Samoan traditions are still observed today.

The Dutch arrived in Futuna at the beginning of the seventeenth century.

The British discovered the island of Wallis in the 1760s.

Wallis was named after Samuel Wallis, the English explorer.

The missionary Pierre Chanel arrived in Futuna in 1837 but was killed four years later. St Pierre Chanel was made the patron saint of Oceania in 1954.

The Pierre Chanel church marks the place where the saint was martyred.

France declared a protectorate over Wallis and Futuna in the 1840s, increasing its control in the 1880s.

Wallis and Futuna officially became a French Colony in 1924.

American troops were stationed on the island of Wallis during the Second World War.

The islanders of Wallis and Futuna voted to become a French Overseas Territory in 1959.

A number of people from Wallis and Futuna have moved to New Caledonia to find employment.

Wallis and Futuna Sections
Geography Environment
Architecture Population
Languages Religion
Food History
Economy Arts
Sport Holidays

Wallis and Futuna
Read Wallis & Futuna Ecology

Gorham's Cave Complex

The Twickenham Tribune

Terms Of Use
Terms of Use and

Stockholm Challenge

Rome GJC Challenge

© 1997 - 2019 World InfoZone Ltd